BJP leader among 9 held for assault on councillor


BJP leader among 9 held for assault on councillor

Tribune News Service

Ambala, April 13

The Ambala police have arrested nine persons, including the vice-president of Ambala Cantonment Board and local BJP leader Surinder Tiwari, in connection with an assault case on cantonment board councillor Ajay Baweja.

Ajay Baweja (45), councillor from ward number 3, was attacked by some persons on April 8 when he was in the office of his marriage palace. He sustained multiple fractures and was rushed to Ambala cantonment civil hospital.

The accused have been identified as Surinder Tiwari, Abhinav, Manharsh Kumar, Rohit, Garry Malhotra, Nikhil, Ramphal, Rahul and Raman. The attack was allegedly planned by Surinder Tiwari. Tiwari and Baweja both are from the BJP.

Deputy Superintendent of Police Suresh Kaushik said, “The accused have been arrested in the assault case. As per the preliminary investigation, Tiwari and Rahul had some monetary dispute with Ajay Baweja. The accused have been booked under various Sections of the IPC including Section 307.”

Meanwhile, Surinder Tiwari has been expelled from the party and a no-confidence motion will be introduced against him in the board. To discuss the issue, a meeting was held in the presence of minister Anil Vij at PWD rest house in Ambala cantonment where the presidents of all three blocks, general secretary, councillors of cantonment board and other local leaders were present.

They unanimously decided to expel Tiwari and bring the no-confidence motion against him.

Anil Vij said, “Tiwari has been expelled for anti-party activities and assault. Such activities will not be tolerated. A no-confidence motion will be introduced against him and the party will introduce its candidate for the post of vice-president.”